Obey servers, checkout, etc....

UPS got you down? eBay making you cry? Need to rant? Do it here.
theBrain
Giant

Obey servers, checkout, etc....

Post by theBrain »

I'm sure this has been touched on many times, but I am new to the Obey world and would love to have some insight. Servers crashing aside, my biggest complaint is with the checkout process. I don't understand why you are redirected back to the OG site after hitting "pay" at the Paypal site. When making any other online purchase (excluding those from sites with their own order processing), the transaction is complete after going through the Paypal checkout. I have missed out on the past few drops b/c the server times out on the way back from Paypal. And don't most sites allow you to keep the items in your cart for a certain period of time before they can be removed?
jshea
Propaganda Engineer

Post by jshea »

Looking through the voluminous anticipation/release threads here will offer enough insight/frustrations/complaints to make your eyeballs bleed. Peruse away!
theBrain
Giant

Re: Obey servers, checkout, etc....

Post by theBrain »

thanks. i've definitely read through the rants and frustrations, and i know i'm not alone. i just really want to know why the site is set up so you have to check out with paypal and then checkout again with og. a simple change could alleviate many of our frustrations, but i'm sure there is a logical reason they chose to do it this way - one that dates back to a time before all the crazy server activity.
illyanadmc
Official Cupcake Maker!

Post by illyanadmc »

the way i understand it, you're bounced back to OG from paypal because OG uses a live inventory, so the site needs to know when a print has been sold (since you are new to the OG world, you wouldn't remember the days of "i hope i don't get refunded" a few years ago - buying prints on OG was like a lottery).
i'm proud to be the shepherd of this herd of sharks.
admonkey
King of the Jungle

Post by admonkey »